top of page

The Eastern Catholic Church Explained: 7 Fascinating Facts All Roman Catholics Should Know

Everyone knows the Christian faith started in the East—specifically, in Jerusalem where Jesus of Nazareth was crucified, died, buried, and resurrected.

Although Rome in the West became the Church’s “headquarters,” (aka, the Vatican), the other Catholic Churches were founded by the Apostles in the East.

Eastern Catholic Churches are sui juris, meaning each one retains its own laws, hierarchy, and ecclesiastical disciplines. 

Here are seven fun facts about the unity in diversity found in the Catholic Church: 

1) There are 24 Catholic Churches—only one of them is Western– the Roman Catholic Church!

9 views0 comments


bottom of page